Do you need a license to grow hemp in Washington state?
Do I need a license to grow hemp in the State of Washington? Yes. Our state law (RCW 15.140.
Can I grow hemp in WA?
Licensees may plant crops of industrial hemp for fibre or seed production using approved seed or planting sources. Sowing seed in WA must be sourced from a crop tested as 0.5% or less THC.
How much does it cost to plant 1 acre of hemp?
This may sound like a very small number, however you can expect to harvest around 1,000 pounds of hemp seed per acre of hemp. Like hemp grown for fiber, the production costs for seed is about $300 to $350 per acre. Doing some quick math, you can expect to make around $250 to $300 per acre when farming for hemp seeds.
Is it legal to grow CBD plants in Washington state?
Thanks to the 2018 Farm Act, it is now federally legal to grow industrial hemp in Washington State. Hemp can only be grown with a license through the WSDA Industrial Hemp Program.
Is CBD illegal in Washington state?
The short answer is YES. CBD is an unregulated and legal product in Washington. The state has an established industrial hemp program. Having embraced the 2018 Farm Bill, CBD and hemp products are readily available over the counter (in dispensaries).
David Nilsen is the former editor of Fourth & Sycamore. He is a member of the National Book Critics Circle. You can find more of his writing on his website at davidnilsenwriter.com and follow him on Twitter as @NilsenDavid.